2013 Blockbuster Preview: MAN OF STEEL, PACIFIC RIM, STAR TREK INTO DARKNESS, THE HUNGER GAMES: CATCHING FIRE, and More

by     Posted 1 year, 266 days ago

2013-blockbuster-preview-slice

As 2012 winds down to a close, it’s tough to see us having another year filled with so many good movies anytime soon. Nevertheless, looking to 2013 there’s certainly reason to be excited, and what better way to kick off the new year than to take a look at what 2013 has in store for us by way of blockbuster filmmaking?  We’ve compiled a list of 20 “blockbusters” to look forward to in the coming year, and the resulting preview teases some promisingly diverse fare.  Naturally there’s no lack of superhero movies headed our way, but we’ve also got a great mix of exciting entries in horror, comedy, sci-fi, and drama to look forward to.  Hit the jump to take a look at our 2013 Blockbuster Preview.

*Note: For the sake of this article, a “blockbuster” is considered a large-scale, big budget event film. Movies are listed in order of release.

EVIL DEAD

 evil-dead-remake-slice

Director: Fede Alvarez

Cast: Jane LevyShiloh FernandezLou Taylor PucciJessica Lucas, and Elizabeth Blackmore.

Release Date: April 12, 2013

Why We’re Excited About It: Okay, so this one’s a bit of a stretch with regards to the “blockbuster” definition, but when a horror classic like Evil Dead gets a remake, it’s automatically an event film.  Sam Raimi and Bruce Campbell have been heavily involved in this update to ensure that the integrity of the original isn’t being tarnished, and the film’s first red-band trailer was straight-up brutal.  It’s obvious that Alvarez isn’t pulling any punches (the tagline promises “The Most Terrifying Film You Will Ever Experience”), and we’re eager to see just how far this thing goes.

OBLIVION 

oblivion-poster-slice

Director: Joseph Kosinski

Cast: Tom Cruise, Olga Kurylenko, Andrea Riseborough, Nikolaj Coster-Waldau, Melissa Leo, and Morgan Freeman.

Release Date: April 19, 2013

Why We’re Excited About It:  Director Joseph Kosinski proved to be an immensely talented visual filmmaker with his directorial debut TRON: Legacy, and he’s taking on what looks to be a gorgeously epic scope with his follow-up film Oblivion.  The deserted Earth landscapes are breathtaking, and Tom Cruise appears to be in fine form here as our enigmatic hero, Jack Harper.  Mystery, action, Tusken raider-esque antagonists?  Color us intrigued.

IRON MAN 3

 iron-man-3-slice

Director: Shane Black

Cast: Robert Downey Jr., Ben Kingsley, Don CheadleGwyneth PaltrowGuy PearceRebecca HallAshley HamiltonJon Favreau and James Badge Dale.

Release Date: May 3, 2013 (3D)

Why We’re Excited About It: This one’s kind of a no-brainer.  The prospect of seeing the continued adventures of RDJ’s Tony Stark is probably reason enough to be interested in this sequel, but the icing on the cake is the involvement of Shane Black.  If the man behind Lethal Weapon and Kiss Kiss Bang Bang can bring half as much wit and fun to Iron Man as he did to his previous films, then we’re in for a very, very good time.  Moreover, we finally get to see Iron Man face off against archvillain The Mandarin, who will be brought to life by the most-excellent Sir Ben Kingsley.

THE GREAT GATSBY

the-great-gatsby-slice

Director: Baz Luhrmann

Cast: Leonardo DiCaprio, Carey Mulligan, Tobey Maguire, Joel Edgerton, Jason Clarke, Isla Fisher, and Elizabeth Debicki.

Release Date: May 10, 2013 (3D)

Why We’re Excited About It: It’s entirely possible that this could go down as one of 2013’s notable disappointments, but under the direction of Baz Luhrmann we’re almost guaranteed that The Great Gatsby will be unlike anything we’ve seen before.  The visuals look spellbinding, the cast is impressive, and we can’t even begin to think about what Luhrmann will do with 3D.  Fingers are crossed, but we’re looking forward to checking out Luhrmann’s Gatsby on the biggest screen possible this May.

STAR TREK INTO DARKNESS

star-trek-2-into-darkness-slice

Director: J.J. Abrams

Cast: Chris Pine, Zachary Quinto, Benedict Cumberbatch, Alice Eve, Simon Pegg, Karl Urban, Zoe Saldana, Anton Yelchin, John Cho, Noel Clarke, and Bruce Greenwood.

Release Date: May 17, 2013 (3D)

Why We’re Excited About It: Passionate Trek fans were a bit wary of the 2009 franchise reboot, but director J.J. Abrams hit the ball out of the park and then some with Star Trek.  As such, it’s with an incredibly high amount of anticipation that we look forward to the follow-up Into Darkness.  In true Abrams fashion, very little is known about the film other than the fact that it takes place in space and on planets, and it features characters from Star Trek.  Abrams roped in the ridiculously talented Benedict Cumberbatch to portray the film’s mystery villain, and the first two teaser trailers did an excellent job of making May 17th feel like a world away.

THE HANGOVER PART III

 the-hangover-3-slice

Director: Todd Phillips

Cast: Bradley Cooper, Ed Helms, Zach Galifianakis, Justin Bartha, Ken Jeong, Heather Graham, John Goodman, Mike Epps, Mike Tyson, and Jeffrey Tambor.

Release Date: May 24, 2013

Why We’re Excited About It: Though last year’s The Hangover Part II left something to be desired, Todd Phillips and co. have promised an entirely different sort of film for the third entry in the comedy franchise.  The pic is described as “Alan’s story,” as The Wolf Pack is called to action when Zach Galifianakis’ character finds himself reeling from a family tragedy.  Multiple locations have been teased—including Las Vegas—so we’re looking forward to seeing how this bizarre and hilarious journey is wrapped up.

THIS IS THE END

this-is-the-end-slice

Directors: Seth Rogen and Evan Goldberg

Cast: Seth Rogen, Jay Baruchel, James Franco, Jonah Hill, Jason Segel, Danny McBride, Michael Cera, David Krumholtz, Emma Watson, Paul Rudd, Martin Starr, Mindy Kaling, Kevin Hart, and Rihanna.

Release Date: June 14, 2013

Why We’re Excited About It: The cast alone would be reason enough to buy a ticket to this one, but the apocalypse comedy marks the directorial debut of Seth Rogen and Evan Goldberg, who also wrote the script.  All of the actors will be playing themselves in the pic, which finds this particular group of individuals facing down the end of the world.  The debut red-band clip was hilarious, promising not only a healthy amount of blissful absurdity, but also expertly delivered self-referential humor.

MAN OF STEEL

man-of-steel-henry-cavill-slice

Director: Zack Snyder

Cast: Henry Cavill, Russell Crowe, Kevin Costner, Diane Lane, Amy Adams and Michael Shannon.

Release Date: June 14, 2013 (3D)

Why We’re Excited About It: We’ve seen plenty of superhero sequels over the past couple of years, but one of the biggest is getting his day in the sun (again) next summer.  Man of Steel looks like nothing else Zack Snyder has ever done, and we can safely assume that producer Christopher Nolan influenced a healthy part of the film’s grounded style.  It’s an interesting take on the Superman character, and all eyes are on Man of Steel to see if Snyder can pull off a successful reboot.  The first trailers have been very promising, so here’s hoping.

MONSTERS UNIVERSITY

monsters-university-mike-wazowski-slice

Director: Dan Scanlon

Cast: Billy Crystal, John Goodman, Steve Buscemi, Dave Foley, Julia Sweeney, Joel Murray, and Peter Sohn.

Release Date: June 21, 2013 (3D)

Why We’re Excited About It: Though Pixar’s last two films may have been a tad underwhelming, there’s reason to believe the upcoming prequel to Monsters Inc. could see a fine return to form for the studio.  For one, Monsters Inc. is one of Pixar’s funniest films to date, and the college setting for Monsters University promises that the prequel won’t stray too far from the original’s comedic tone.  The collegiate setting also provides a unique opportunity for Pixar to explore complex relationships, as those four years in college are some of the most formative of any human (or monster’s) life.  In the end, though, are you really going to turn down a chance to see more adventures from the brilliant comedic duo of Billy Crystal’s Mike and John Goodman’s Sully?

KICK-ASS 2

Director: Jeff Wadlow

Cast: Aaron Johnson, Chloe Moretz, Christopher Mintz-Plasse, Clark Duke, Donald Faison, John Leguizamo, Olga Kurkulina, and Jim Carrey.

Release Date: June 28, 2013

Why We’re Excited About It: Director Matthew Vaughn’s R-rated Kick-Ass was like a shot of adrenaline to the superhero genre; a rare superhero movie made specifically for adults.  The promise of Mintz-Plasse’s Red Mist turning supervillain, plus the addition of Jim Carrey as a hero called “Colonel Stars” are reason enough to assume that we’re in for a wild ride with this sequel, and we can’t wait to see just how crazy things will get.

Continued on Page 2 with Pacific Rim, The Wolverine, Ender’s Game and many more




Like Us


Pages: 1 2

Comments:

FB Comments

  • Max Drome

    OBLIVION is what i am most excited about .

    • habsfan86

      Out of all the movies coming out you are most excited about Oblivion?haha,sorry but that gave me a good chuckle.It would only be fair for me to list mine I guess-Pacific Rim.Very hard to pull this concept off,but if they casted tom Cruise it would work cuz midgets can operate machinery.midgets saving planet earth,mehhhhh

  • Griz

    I noticed at least 2 films that deal with people dealing with the end of the world . . .. that can’t be good for their longevity.

  • adel

    I think you forget will smith with his son

  • kanwar

    Where is The

  • Strong Enough

    lmao no Thor: The Dark World? no one wants to see a plastic hammer being thrown around at power ranger looking elves. :)

    • bk

      That’s out in November

      • Justin

        Lol I imagine that response being said very matter of factly.

  • kanwar

    Where is the lone ranger n After Earth

    • bk

      I doubt anyone can think of a reason Why We’re Excited About After Earth, maybe Lone Ranger but not AE.

  • YES

    Wtf?
    Whr is The Lone Ranger n After Earth..also Jack The Giant Slayer(i dnt thnk its gonna be d john carter of 2013),hansel and gratel,The Incredible Burt Wonderstone,Pain and Gain n The Heat all are promising movies n box office contenders 4 me!!

  • Nomis1700

    Looking forward the most to Star Trek into Darkness, Man of Steel and The Desolation of Smaug. Oblivion, Gravity, Elysium and some other superhero movies are on my watch as well :P

  • jackd.

    where is Fast 6?

  • Andrew from Troy

    If it is a blockbuster preview, you must include ALL blockbusters, even if you don’t want to see them. Especially if you include the Evil Dead remake!

    You foolishly left out The Lone Ranger, After Earth, Fast Six, Jack the Giant Slayer, Hansel and Gretel: Witch Hunters, A Good Day to Die Hard, Beautiful Creatures, Oz: The Great and Powerful, G.I. Joe: Retaliation, The Host, Epic, Now You See Me, World War Z, Despicable Me 2, R.I.P.D., The Smurfs 2, Turbo, 300: Rise of an Empire, RED 2, Percy Jackson: Sea of Monsters, The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones, Riddick, Rush, Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs 2, Sin City: A Dame to Kill For, The Seventh Son, Mr. Peabody and Sherman, 47 Ronin, and Jack Ryan.

    • Josh Kaye

      “We’ve compiled a list of 20 “blockbusters” to look forward to in the coming year, and the resulting preview teases some promisingly diverse fare.”

      You knew right away that you weren’t going to get every goddamn movie coming out next year. These are the 20 films that they (or just he, not sure if it’s a staff thing or just Adam) obviously feel will be the best of the best, and I can’t say I disagree. All 20 of these films have been on my radar and I’m excited for all of them. Some of the films don’t even have anything to advertise with yet so we can say if it looks good or bad.

      • Andrew from Troy

        Yes, thank you, I can read. I meant that the title itself is misleading.

        Perhaps “Biggest Blockbusters of 2013″ instead?

  • Farzan

    You put Anchorman 2 over Fast Six and Despicable Me 2? The first Anchorman didn’t even reach $100 million domestically while both Fast Six and Despicable Me 2 will easily do over $500 million worldwide. The list sucks!!!

  • Farzan

    You put Anchorman 2 over Fast Six and Despicable Me 2? The first Anchorman didn\’t even reach $100 million domestically while both Fast Six and Despicable Me 2 will easily do over $500 million worldwide. The list sucks!!!

  • BrandonHeat07

    List is so so… They chose Oblivion instead of After Earth (which looks MUCH better), plus they left out Machete Kills in favor of other lesser “blockbusterish” films (e.g. Evil Dead remake, etc). Oh, well… Merry Christmas all the same…

  • Pingback: ELYSIUM Images Featuring Jodie Foster | Collider

  • Pingback: First Look at Jodie Foster from Neill Blomkamp’s ELYSIUM

  • SanctuaryMan

    THE WOLVERINE

Click Here