Mark Wahlberg in Talks to Star in 2 GUNS

     August 10, 2011

mark-wahlberg-slice-02

Mark Wahlberg isn’t my favorite actor working today (I’ve only liked him in a handful of roles) but he’s getting plenty of work.  He’s just wrapped on the crime drama Contraband, he’s signed on to the noir flick Broken City, he’s got the action comedy Good Time Gang, he’s planning to reunite with Will Ferrell for Three Mississippi, and he’s got a slew of other projects to choose from.  Now Wahlberg is adding to another to the list as Deadline reports that he’s in talks to star in the adaptation of Stephen Grant’s graphic novel 2 Guns.  The plot concerns a DEA Agent and a Naval Investigator who unwittingly start investigating each other as they both believe they’re stealing from the mob until they learn they’ve been stealing from the CIA.

It’s a plot that could be a breezy, Ocean’s Eleven style crime-caper or something more serious depending on how it’s adapted. In January, David O. Russell was on board to direct and re-write the script with Vince Vaughn attached to star but both have left the project.  Wahlberg’s shown he can do comedy and drama so it will be interesting to see where this project falls into that spectrum and where it falls into Wahlberg’s busy schedule.  Hit the jump for a synopsis of the graphic novel.

Here’s the synopsis for Stephen Grant’s 2 Guns:

A pulp story about cops and thieves and the men that are something in between. Trench has targeted a local bank to rob, and asked Steadman in on the job. Trench figures it’s a great way to score — considering it’s a cover for mob money. They’ll be thieves ripping off thieves. But what Steadman doesn’t know is that Trench is a DEA agent. And what Trench doesn’t know is that Steadman’s a Naval Intelligence officer. They’re both cops! And neither one knows that they’re not robbing the mob, they’ve been set up to steal $50 million from the CIA! A light-hearted crime romp in the vein of Ocean’s Thirteen and The Italian Job from comics legend, Steven Grant! [Boom! Studios]

2-guns-comic-book-cover

Watch Now
Tags

Around The Web

Latest News