Official Synopsis for J.J. Abrams’ SUPER 8 Revealed

     March 10, 2011


To say that the secrecy surrounding J.J. Abrams’ new film Super 8 has been rather tight would be a bit of an understatement. We finally got our first look at the film during its Super Bowl TV spot, and now Paramount has released an official synopsis for the flick. The theatrical trailer is rumored to debut with Battle: Los Angeles this weekend, but until then here’s a closer look at what to expect:

In the summer of 1979, a group of friends in a small Ohio town witness a catastrophic train crash while making a super 8 movie and soon suspect that it was not an accident.  Shortly after, unusual disappearances and inexplicable events begin to take place in town, and the local Deputy tries to uncover the truth –  something more terrifying than any of them could have imagined.

Written and directed by J.J. Abrams, Super 8 is produced by Steven Spielberg, Abrams and Bryan Burk. The cast includes Elle Fanning, Kyle Chandler, Ron Eldard, Noah Emmerich, Gabriel Basson, Joel Courtney, Ryan Lee, Zach Mills and Amanda Michalka. Super 8 hits theaters on June 10th.

Around The Web
  • MXLive720

    I can’t fucking wait!

    • Benjie

      Do you kiss your boyfriend with that mouth?
      Clean it up!

    • Nick

      Fuck the fuck yeah and no I don’t kiss my mother with my mouth you incestful freak.

  • Pingback: Official synopsis for J.J. Abrams’ Super 8 released | Your Entertainment Now()

  • Grimcicle

    So, Cloverfield 2?

    • Labeef


      While I am anticipating this movie very much I could not help but think of the same thing.

      I was very excited for CLOVERFIELD and supremely let down when I saw it. There were many problems with that movie but I have high hopes for this one.

      It looks very original and entertaining but I swear to God I will be so pissed if its shot in the dumbass documentary style way as CLOVERFIELD.

      also that kid to the left looks like something out of THE HILLS HAVE EYES

      • Aryangirl

        I totally agree mate. I was extremely let down by Cloverfield. The monsters were great but you saw bugger-all of them. Now “The Mist”, that’s a good monster movie! I am sick of movies being made like documentary’s. If you are gonna have a good monster movie, show a lot of the creatures! That’s what people come to see! Thanks for listening (reading).


  • chicgoods
  • BoBo Clown

    Cloverfield was a breakthrough in monster flicks LaBeef. I’m truly sorry you weren’t able to get that. Maybe next time don’t go to the theater stoned. A lot of people really liked the movie and can’t wait for a sequel.

    • Benjie

      You must go to a restaurant to SMELL the food rather than eat it from the look of things. People go to a “monster movie” to see…
      the MONSTER.
      PS-you and BeBe are not “a lot of people”