2013 American Society of Cinematographers Award Nominations Include SKYFALL, LIFE OF PI, and ANNA KARENINA

by     Posted 1 year, 343 days ago


In anticipation of the announcement of the nominations for the 85th Academy Awards tomorrow morning, the American Society of Cinematographers has announced its list of nominees for outstanding achievement in cinematography.  Roger Deakins was singled out for his gorgeous work on this year’s Skyfall, as was Claudio Miranda for the breathtaking Life of Pi.  The list of nominees is rounded out by Seamus McGarvey for Anna Karenina, Danny Cohen for Les Miserables, and Janusz Kaminski for Lincoln.

Deakins has been nominated by the ASC for a total of 11 times now, winning for The Shawshank Redemption and The Man Who Wasn’t There.  Shockingly, he has never won an Academy Award despite being nominated for fantastic work like The Assassination of Jesse James, No Country for Old Men, and True Grit, but this could very well be his year.  Hit the jump to read the full press release, and click here to read my predictions for tomorrow’s Oscar nominations.  The ASC Awards will be held on February 10th.

INCEPTION Cinematographer Wally Pfister Wins at ASC Awards

by     Posted 3 years, 307 days ago

Inception cinematographer Wally Pfister won the American Society of Cinematographers Outstanding Achievement Award in the feature film category.  It was Pfister’s first win from the ASC.  He had previously been nominated for The Dark Knight and Batman Begins.  This year’s other nominees included Matthew Libatique (Black Swan), Danny Cohen (The King’s Speech), Jeff Cronenweth (The Social Network), and Roger Deakins (True Grit).  All five of these men have also been nominated for the Oscar for Best Cinematography and it’s tough to argue that they don’t deserve it.

While Pfister’s win from the ASC may give him a slight edge in the Oscar race, I still think this is going to be Deakins’ year.  It’s his ninth nomination and I think/hope that the Academy will finally give him his due.  However, if Pfister takes home the statue, you won’t hear me complaining.

American Society of Cinematographers Nominates BLACK SWAN, INCEPTION, THE KING’S SPEECH, THE SOCIAL NETWORK, and TRUE GRIT for 2010 Awards

by     Posted 3 years, 342 days ago


The American Society of Cinematographers have nominated five in the feature film category for its 25th annual Outstanding Achievement Awards: Matthew Libatique (Black Swan), Wally Pfister (Inception), Danny Cohen (The King’s Speech), Jeff Cronenweth (The Social Network), and Roger Deakins (True Grit).

The night is Deakins’: True Grit represents his ninth nomination at the ASC Awards (his fifth in the last four years), and he will be honored with a Lifetime Achievement Award.  Deakins won in 1994 for The Shawshank Redemption and again in 2001 for The Man Who Wasn’t There.  Pfister is on his way, though.  This is the third nomination has garnered from a collaboration with director Christopher Nolan following Batman Begins in 2005 and The Dark Knight in 2009.  Hit the jump for the official press release.

Click Here