BOYHOOD Images Featuring Ethan Hawke, Patricia Arquette, and Ellar Coltrane over the Span of 12 Years, Plus Info on the Film’s Soundtrack

     June 13, 2014


You really can’t question Richard Linklater’s commitment to a project.  Take Boyhood as a prime example: the writer/director filmed this ambitious drama over the course of 12 years, not due to budget issues or breaches of contracts, but because he intended to capture a few scenes of one boy’s life in each year from age 5 to 18.  Played by Ellar Coltrane, who viewers literally get to see grow up on screen, Mason’s journey from childhood into adolescence is captured on film, along with all of his life’s events that act as waypoints throughout the years.

We have a few new images from Boyhood that feature Coltrane alongside his on-screen parental co-stars Ethan Hawke and Patricia Arquette, along with information on the film’s soundtrack, the span of which is almost as impressive as the film itself.  Make sure to check out Boyhood’s trailer here, and take a look at Matt’s Sundance review, if you’re so inclined, before the film opens July 11th.  Hit the jump for more.

New Boyhood images come courtesy of The Playlist, which follow just after the film’s soundtrack information (via Film Music Reporter):

“Boyhood” soundtrack details

  • 1. Summer Noon – Jeff Tweedy
  • 2. Yellow – Coldplay
  • 3. Hate To Say I Told You So – The Hives
  • 4. Could We – Cat Power
  • 5. Do You Realize?? – The Flaming Lips
  • 6. Crazy – Gnarls Barkley
  • 7. One (Blake’s Got A New Face) – Vampire Weekend
  • 8. Hate It Here – Wilco
  • 9. Good Girls Go Bad (Feat. Leighton Meester) – Cobra Starship
  • 10. Beyond The Horizon – Bob Dylan
  • 11. Band On The Run – Paul Mccartney & Wings
  • 12. She’s Long Gone – The Black Keys
  • 13. Somebody That I Used To Know (Feat. Kimbra) – Gotye
  • 14. I’ll Be Around – Yo La Tengo
  • 15. Hero – Family Of The Year
  • 16. Deep Blue – Arcade Fire

boyhood-patricia-arquette boyhood-ethan-hawke-ellar-coltrane-patricia-arquette boyhood-ethan-hawke boyhood-ellar-coltrane-ethan-hawke boyhood-ellar-coltrane boyhood - ethan hawke boyhood - ellar coltrane

Here’s the official synopsis for Boyhood:

Filmed over 12 years with the same cast, Richard Linklater’s BOYHOOD is a groundbreaking story of growing up as seen through the eyes of a child named Mason (a breakthrough performance by Ellar Coltrane), who literally grows up on screen before our eyes. Starring Ethan Hawke and Patricia Arquette as Mason’s parents and newcomer Lorelei Linklater as his sister Samantha, BOYHOOD charts the rocky terrain of childhood like no other film has before. Snapshots of adolescence from road trips and family dinners to birthdays and graduations and all the moments in between become transcendent, set to a soundtrack spanning the years from Coldplay’s Yellow to Arcade Fire’s Deep Blue. BOYHOOD is both a nostalgic time capsule of the recent past and an ode to growing up and parenting. It’s impossible to watch Mason and his family without thinking about our own journey.


Latest News