Comedy Central and MTV Networks Announce the First Annual COMEDY AWARDS

     January 10, 2011


It’s awards season, and while praiseworthy films like The Social Network and The King’s Speech are all critics and press can talk about, comedy is generally consistently overlooked at the Oscars. And while the Golden Globe offers an award for Best Musical or Comedy, it’s nearly impossible to compare the two evenly, and The Hollywood Foreign Press nominates laughless films like The Tourist in that category anyway. Well Comedy Central and MTV Networks have had enough of that nonsense. While laughter might be the best reward for any comedian, the two networks have decided to create The Comedy Awards, a broadcast awards event to honor the best comedy films, actors, TV series, digital content and stand-up acts. It’s about damn time.

More details on the new annual awards show can be found after the jump.

The Comedy Awards will be taped on March 26th for a premiere on Sunday, April 10th which will be simultaneous broadcast on Comedy Central, Spike TV, TV Land, VH1 and Nick At Nite. The awards themselves will be decided by a Board of Directors that includes comedians, actors, directors, writers and producers like James Burrows, Billy Crystal, Will Ferrell, Whoopi Goldberg, Seth MacFarlane, Adam McKay, Jimmy Miller, Jay Roach, Ray Romano, Rory Rosegarten and many more. The winners will be chosen by an invitation-only voting body comprised of 500-1000 members from the comedy community — including writers, producers, performers and directors. The event will also feature several special awards that will include the voice of the fans through online voting at the event site

Personally, I’m glad comedy will be getting its due diligence with a separate awards show just to honor those who have the difficult task of making us laugh.