First Trailer for WEEDS Creator Jenji Kohan’s New Netflix Series ORANGE IS THE NEW BLACK

     June 6, 2013


The first trailer for Netflix’s upcoming comedy series Orange Is the New Black has been released online.  From Weeds creator Jenji Kohan, the show stars Taylor Schilling as a Brooklynite whose decade-old relationship with a drug-runner (Laura Prepon) lands her in a federal penitentiary.  The show is based on the memoir of the same name by Piper Kerman, and this debut trailer is incredibly promising.  The perfect blend of dark comedy and drama that Kohan displayed in the early seasons of Weeds is on full display here, as we see Schilling’s character adjusting to her new life in prison.  I’m encouraged by the fact that Kohan doesn’t go for the easy “rich white lady in jail” jokes, and instead displays a sharp wit with a surprising amount of heart.  Moreover, it’s nice to see a female-driven TV series that doesn’t revolve around the protagonist’s relationship with men.

Hit the jump to watch the trailer.  The show also stars Jason Biggs, Kate Mulgrew, Natasha Lyonne, Pablo Schreiber, Danielle Brooks, Matt McGorry, Laverne Cox, and Taryn Manning.  All 13 episodes of Orange Is the New Black will premiere on Netflix on July 11th.

Here’s the official synopsis for Orange Is the New Black:

Created and executive produced by Jenji Kohan (“Weeds”) and based on the U.S. best-selling memoir of the same name by Piper Kerman, the comedic drama starring Taylor Schilling follows engaged-Brooklynite Piper Chapman (Schilling) whose decade-old relationship with drug-runner Alex (Laura Prepon) results in her arrest and year-long detention in a federal penitentiary. To pay her debt to society, Piper must trade her comfortable New York life with fiancé  Larry (Jason Biggs) for an orange jumpsuit and a baffling prison culture where she is forced to question everything she believes and form unexpected new alliances with a group of eccentric and outspoken inmates. The series also stars Kate Mulgrew, Natasha Lyonne, Pablo Schreiber, Danielle Brooks, Matt McGorry, Laverne Cox and Taryn Manning.