San Francisco Film Critics Circle Helps THE HURT LOCKER Continue Its Winning Streak

     December 15, 2009


Kathryn Bigelow’s The Hurt Locker won best picture and best director again today at the San Francisco Film Critics Circle (SFFCC) awards. The film has already been awarded with both honors by critics in New York, Los Angeles, and Boston.  Meanwhile, the Southeastern Film Critics Association did not give the film best picture, but did award best director to Bigelow.  I really hope that these are all signs that Bigelow will be the first female to win best director come Oscar time.

Other SFFCC winners included Colin Firth for best actor in A Single Man, Meryl Streep for best actress in Julie & Julia, Mo’Nique for best supporting actress in Precious, Christian McKay pulling a surprise win for best supporting actor in Me and Orson Welles, and Quentin Tarantino winning best original screenplay for Inglourious Basterds while Wes Anderson and Noah Baumbach  received the award for best adapted screenplay for Fantastic Mr. Fox.

The full list of winners are after the jump.

PICTURE: “The Hurt Locker”

DIRECTOR: Kathryn Bigelow, “The Hurt Locker”

ORIGINAL SCREENPLAY: Quentin Tarantino, “Inglourious Basterds”

Me_and_Orson_Welles_movie_image _Christian_McKay (3).jpgADAPTED SCREENPLAY: Wes Anderson and Noah Baumbach, “Fantastic Mr. Fox”

ACTOR: Colin Firth, “A Single Man”

ACTRESS: Meryl Streep, “Julie & Julia”

SUPPORTING ACTOR: Christian McKay, “Me and Orson Welles”

SUPPORTING ACTRESS: Mo’Nique, “Precious”


FOREIGN LANGUAGE FILM: “You, the Living” (Sweden)

DOCUMENTARY: “Anvil! The Story of Anvil”

CINEMATOGRAPHY: Roger Deakins, “A Serious Man”

SPECIAL CITATION: “Sita Sings the Blues”

MARLON RIGGS AWARD FOR COURAGE & VISION IN THE BAY AREA FILM COMMUNITY:Frazer Bradshaw, filmmaker, in recognition of his film “Everything Strange and New”
Barry Jenkins, filmmaker, in recognition of his film “Medicine for Melancholy”

IN MEMORIAM: Rose Kaufman

Latest News