‘Star Wars: The Force Awakens,’ ‘The Walking Dead’ Dominate 42nd Saturn Awards

     June 23, 2016


The 42nd Annual Saturn Awards have taken place; with the winners now revealed. If you aren’t familiar, these awards focus specifically on “genre entertainment and anything with an edge,” voted on by the Academy of Science Fiction, Fantasy, and Horror. The awards cover an unusual period of time given their summer presentation (February 1st 2015 to February 11th 2016), but they are also able to highlight movies like Crimson Peak, and TV shows like The Flash, that don’t typically get considered elsewhere.

This year’s awards were hosted by Arrow’s John Barrowman, and saw a complete domination by Star Wars: The Force Awakens, which received 8 awards including Best Science Fiction Film, Best Actor (Harrison Ford) Best Supporting Actor (Adam Driver), and Best Music (John Williams). It was closely followed by the aforementioned Crimson Peak, which took home three awards, including Best Horror Film. Other notable film winners included Charlize Theron’s Best Actress trophy for Mad Max: Fury Road, and Ridley Scott picking up Best Director for The Martian.


Image via AMC

On the TV side, The Walking Dead won Best Horror TV Series, while Hannibal took home best Action / Thriller TV series, and Best Supporting TV Actor for Richard Armitage. Outlander’s Caitriona Balfe won her second Best TV Actress award for the Starz series, which also picked up Best Fantasy TV Series, while The Flash took home the Best Superhero Adaption on TV for the second time. Currently campaigning for an Emmy, Bruce Campbell did get, in the meantime, a Saturn aware for Best TV Actor for Ash vs. Evil Dead.

Check out the full list below, which also includes Supergirl’s Melissa Benoist win for Breakthrough Performance, and Better Call Saul receiving special recognition for excellence in television (hear hear!)


Best Science Fiction Film: Star Wars: The Force Awakens

Best Comic-to-Film Motion Picture:  Ant-Man

Best Fantasy Film: Cinderella

Best Horror Film: Crimson Peak

Best Action/Adventure Film: Furious 7

Best Thriller Film:  Bridge of Spies

Best International Film:  Turbo Kid

Best Animated Film:  Inside Out

Best Independent Film:  Room

Best Actor: Harrison Ford (Star Wars: The Force Awakens)


Image via Warner Bros.

Best Actress: Charlize Theron (Mad Max: Fury Road)

Best Supporting Actor: Adam Driver (Star Wars: The Force Awakens)

Best Supporting Actress:  Jessica Chastain (Crimson Peak)

Best Performance by a Younger Actor: Ty Simpkins (Jurassic World)

Best Director: Ridley Scott (The Martian)

Best Writing:  Lawrence Kasdan, J.J. Abrams, Michael Arndt (Star Wars: The Force Awakens)

Best Production Design: Thomas E. Sanders (Crimson Peak)

Best Editing: Maryann Brandon, Mary Jo Markey (Star Wars: The Force Awakens)

Best Music: John Williams (Star Wars: The Force Awakens)

Best Costume: Alexandra Byrne (Avengers: Age of Ultron)

Best Make-Up: Neal Scanlan  (Star Wars: The Force Awakens)

Best Special Effects: Roger Guyett, Patrick Tubach, Neal Scanlan, Chris Corbould (Star Wars: The Force Awakens)



Best Science Fiction TV Series: Continuum

Best Horror TV Series: The Walking Dead


Image via NBC

Best Action/Thriller TV Series:  Hannibal

Best Fantasy TV Series: Outlander

Best Presentation on Television:  Doctor Who: The Husbands of River Song

Best Superhero Adaptation Television Series:  The Flash

(*)  Best New Media TV Series:  Marvel’s Daredevil

Best Actor on Television:  Bruce Campbell (Ash vs Evil Dead)  

Best Actress on Television:  Caitrionia Balfe (Outlander)

Best Supporting Actor on Television: Richard Armitage(Hannibal)

Best Supporting Actress on Television: Danai Gurira (The Walking Dead)

Best Younger TV Actor: Chandler Riggs (The Walking Dead)

Best Guest Star on Television: William Shatner (Haven)


Best DVD/BD Release: Burying the Ex

Best DVD/BD Classic Film Release: Miracle Mile

Best DVD/BD Collection Release: Frank Darabont Collection

Best DVD/BD Television Series Release: X-Files: The Collector’s Set

Best DVD/BD Special Edition:  X-Men: Days of Futures Past (The Rogue Cut)



Image via 20th Century Fox

Best Local Stage Production:  Tarzan (3D Theatricals)


The Lifetime Achievement Award: Nichelle Nichols

The Dan Curtis Legacy Award: Eric Kripke

The Breakthrough Performance Award: Melissa Benoist (Supergirl)

George Pal Memorial Award:  Simon Kinberg         

Special Recognition Award:  Brannon Braga

President’s Award:  Haven

(*)  Spotlight Award:  Better Call Saul

(*) First inaugural Awards


Image via AMC


Image via AMC


Image via AMC