SUCKER PUNCH Soundtrack Releases March 22nd; Features Songs from Emily Browning and Carla Gugino

     February 24, 2011


Just in time for the film’s March 25th theatrical release, the soundtrack for writer/director Zack Snyder’s Sucker Punch will be released on Tuesday, March 22nd. Per the press release, the soundtrack will be comprised of “fascinatingly reworked versions of classic songs” i.e. star Emily Browning performing Eurythmics mainstay “Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This).” Browning isn’t the only cast member lending her pipes to the soundtrack as Carla Gugino and Oscar Isaac also perform a duet of Roxy Music’s “Love Is the Drug.” After checking out the track listing for the soundtrack, I have to say I’m interested in seeing how the songs interact with the mildly insane imagery we’ve seen from the film thus far. Given that it features a giant robot bunny, not too mention a soundtrack with songs by members of the cast, I wouldn’t be surprised if a musical number popped up at some point.

To check out the full press release (which features the aforementioned full track listing), hit the jump. In addition to Browning, Gugino, and Isaac, Sucker Punch also stars Abbie Cornish, Jena Malone, Jamie Chung, Vanessa Hudgens, Jon Hamm, and Scott Glenn. To catch up on all of our previous Sucker Punch coverage, click here.

Here’s the press release:

FEBRUARY 24, 2011 – BURBANK, CA – WaterTower Music is thrilled to announce the release of “Sucker Punch: The Original Motion Picture Soundtrack” on March 22, 2011. The audio companion to the film director Zack Snyder describes as “Alice In Wonderland with machine guns” has taken over two years to create, and will delight filmgoers and music fans of all generations.

Snyder (Watchmen, 300), collaborated with Grammy®-nominated composer and music director Marius de Vries (Moulin Rouge!) and composer Tyler Bates (Watchmen, 300, Californication) to select the collection of songs featured on the soundtrack, which play an integral role in the film.

“Working with Marius and re-teaming with Tyler on Sucker Punch’s soundtrack was an extraordinary experience,” said Snyder. “Sucker Punch is a film created with multiple levels of reality, so this same layered construct had to be considered and applied when approaching the music. The selection of songs we chose and the various ways in which they were each re-envisioned had to add depth, dimension and meaning to the sequences they exist within. Marius and Tyler did an amazing job creating an intricate musical landscape to accompany the surreal imagery of the film.”


Fascinatingly reworked versions of classic songs illuminate the soundtrack, with the film’s star Emily Browning covering “Sweet Dreams (Are Made Of This)” (Eurythmics), “Where Is My Mind?” (The Pixies), and “Asleep” (The Smiths), and stars Carla Gugino (Watchmen) and Oscar Isaac (Robin Hood) performing a sultry, musical theatre-inspired version of “Love Is The Drug” (Roxy Music). Alison Mosshart (The Dead Weather, The Kills) and Carla Azar (Autolux) team up on a haunting version of “Tomorrow Never Knows” (The Beatles). Björk fans will love the newly created version of “Army Of Me (Sucker Punch Remix)” that features Skunk Anansie and clocks in at nearly seven minutes.

Intense, sexy, edgy and highly imaginative, these new and unrestrained arrangements of legendary songs, along with the original mash up of Queen’s “I Want It All/We Will Rock You” featuring Armageddon Aka Geddy (Terror Squad), are the backbone of the film driving the relationship between the motives of the characters and the lengths they are willing to go for survival.

sucker-punch-abbie-cornish-posterTRACK LISTING:

1.   “Sweet Dreams (Are Made Of This)” – Emily Browning
2.   “Army Of Me (Sucker Punch Remix)”  – Björk featuring Skunk Anansie
3.   “White Rabbit” – Emiliana Torrini
4.   “I Want It All”/“We Will Rock You” Mash-Up – Queen with Armageddon Aka Geddy
5.   “Search And Destroy” – Skunk Anansie
6.   “Tomorrow Never Knows” – Alison Mosshart and Carla Azar
7.   “Where Is My Mind?” – Yoav featuring Emily Browning
8.   “Asleep” – Emily Browning
9.   “Love Is The Drug” – Carla Gugino and Oscar Isaac

Sucker Punch is an epic action fantasy that takes us into the vivid imagination of a young girl whose dream world provides the ultimate escape from her darker reality.  Unrestrained by the boundaries of time and place, she is free to go where her mind takes her, and her incredible adventures blur the lines between what’s real and what is imaginary.

She has been locked away against her will, but Babydoll (Emily Browning) has not lost her will to survive.  Determined to fight for her freedom, she urges four other young girls—the outspoken Rocket (Jena Malone), the street-smart Blondie (Vanessa Hudgens), the fiercely loyal Amber (Jamie Chung) and the reluctant Sweet Pea (Abbie Cornish)—to band together and try to escape their terrible fate at the hands of their captors, Blue (Oscar Isaac), Madam Gorski (Carla Gugino) and the High Roller (Jon Hamm).

Led by Babydoll, the girls engage in fantastical warfare against everything from samurais to serpents, with a virtual arsenal at their disposal.  Together, they must decide what they are willing to sacrifice in order to stay alive.  But with the help of a Wise Man (Scott Glenn), their unbelievable journey—if they succeed—will set them free.

Latest News