Exclusive Mondo Poster Debut for ‘The Invitation’ Designed by Alan Hynes

     April 5, 2016


We’re happy to provide you with the exclusive debut of a new Mondo poster for Karyn Kusama’s horror/thriller The Invitation. Designed by Alan Hynes, this deliciously creepy limited edition artwork will be available to add to your collection starting April 6th, just before the movie’s opening this Friday. As a bonus, Theodore Shapiro’s original score for the film will also be available in a limited pressing run; the soundtrack’s artwork hails from Jay Shaw with photography by Carli Davidson.

As for The Invitation itself, Logan Marshall-Green stars as Will, a man who is invited to a dinner party by his ex-wife Eden (Tammy Blanchard) and her new husband David (Michiel Huisman). While that’s an awkward social situation to begin with, the other mysterious guests and Eden’s suspicious behavior convinces Will that the dinner invitation is part of a bigger design. Also starring Carroll Lynch (Fargo), The Invitation hits theaters and VOD on April 8th.

Check out our exclusive debut of the Mondo poster for The Invitation below:


  • Artist: Alan Hynes
  • Dimensions: 18×24″
  • Edition: 75
  • $40
  • On sale 4/6

And here’s a bonus look at the soundtrack’s artwork:


  • The Invitation
  • Original Score by Theodore Shapiro
  • Original Songs by Craig Wedren & Benjamin Newgard
  • Artwork by Jay Shaw / Photography by Carli Davidson
  • Limited one-time pressing of 500 units on 180 Gram Colored Vinyl
  • $25
  • On sale 4/6

Here’s what Mondo has to say about their latest release:

Mondo is proud to present Theodore Shapiro’s soundtrack to Karyn Kusama’s haunting thriller THE INVITATION.


In THE INVITATION, the tension is palpable when Will (Logan Marshall-Green, PROMETHEUS) shows up to a dinner party hosted by his ex-wife Eden (Tammy Blanchard, INTO THE WOODS) and new husband David (Michiel Huisman, “Game of Thrones”). The estranged divorcees’ tragic past haunts an equally eerie present; amid Eden’s suspicious behavior and her mysterious house guests (including John Carroll Lynch “American Horror Story”), Will becomes convinced that his invitation was extended with a hidden agenda. Unfolding over one dark evening in the Hollywood Hills, THE INVITATION blurs layers of mounting paranoia, mystery, and horror until both Will—and the audience—are unsure what threats are real or imagined.


“THE INVITATION perfectly captures something essential about life in Los Angeles,” said composer Theodore Shapiro. “Los Angeles is a city of incredible natural beauty and utopian visions, but also a city in which dread, grief, and the curdling of those visions can often lie just underneath the surface. The score mostly functions in the film as the voice of dread, haunted memories, and grief that sits underneath the surface of a dinner party in the hills of LA. The music follows the film in its descent from uneasiness towards true terror.”


This limited edition vinyl release is limited to 500 copies, and pressed on heavyweight colored Vinyl, and featuring liner notes by director Karyn Kusama



Latest News