Comic-Con 2016: ‘Wonder Woman,’ ‘Suicide Squad,’ and ‘Fantastic Beasts’ Highlight Warner Bros. Panel

     July 11, 2016


While Marvel Studios has been keeping the details of their upcoming panel at San Diego Comic-Con a mystery, we do know James Gunn will bring Guardians of the Galaxy, Vol. 2 and Scott Derrickson will rep Doctor Strange. DC, on the other hand, has laid out their cards on the table.

Warner Bros. announced via press release its full slate of films to be previewed at the forthcoming panel on Saturday. For the DC Comics films, that means Wonder Woman and Suicide Squad. Actors Gal Gadot (Diana Prince) and Connie Nielsen (Queen Hippolyta) will accompany director Patty Jenkins to tout the former, while most of Task Force X — Will Smith (Deadshot), Jared Leto (Joker), Margot Robbie (Harley Quinn), Joel Kinnaman (Rick Flag), Viola Davis (Amanda Waller), Jai Courtney (Captain Boomerang), Jay Hernandez (El Diablo), Adewale Akinnuoye-Agbaje (Killer Croc), Scott Eastwood (a non-comics character Navy SEAL), Cara Delevingne (Enchantress), Adam Beach (Slipknot), and Karen Fukuhara (Katana) — will appear beside screenwriter-director David Ayer.


Clay Enos/ & © DC Comics Courtesy Warner Bros. Pictures

Surprisingly, Justice League is not on the list. Zack Snyder has been busy filming the DC superhero team-up and had enough material to invite press to the set. I suppose this could still be one of those special Hall H surprises, but don’t say we didn’t warn you.

Director Chris McKay and Will Arnett will also come out for The LEGO Batman Movie, and Charlie Hunnam and Guy Ritchie will prove their King Arthur movie (now subtitled Legend of the Sword) hasn’t been lost in the ether.

Elsewhere, the studio is bringing out the stars of two non-superhero blockbusters — Kong: Skull Island and the Harry Potter prequel Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them. As we previously reported, Tom Hiddleston will be there, but the press release confirms Brie Larson, John Goodman, Corey Hawkins, Jason Mitchell, and director Jordan Vogt-Roberts. David Yates will then shepherd out Eddie Redmayne, Katherine Waterston, Dan Fogler, Alison Sudol, Ezra Miller, and Colin Farrell.

Sadly, no J.K. Rowling.

The Warner Bros. panel, hosted by Conan O’Brien, will be held in Hall H on Saturday, July 23rd beginning at 11:30 a.m.


Image via Warner Bros.


Image via Warner Bros.


Image via Warner Bros.


Image via Warner Bros.

Latest News